Why National Universities Commission banned 18 foreign universities, full list

Why National Universities Commission banned 18 foreign universities, full list

The Federal Government of Nigeria, under the guidance of Tahir Mamman, Minister of Education, has announced the suspension of evaluation and accreditation for degrees from universities in the Republic of Benin and Togo.

This move, revealed on Tuesday by the Federal Ministry of Education, comes as a response to an in-depth undercover investigation that has shaken the foundations of foreign university operations in Nigeria.

“Our commitment to revamping vocational training and ensuring the integrity of our educational system is unwavering,” stated Mamman. “This decision is a step towards maintaining high standards in our education sector.”

The investigation, conducted by a Nigerian online platform, unearthed a disturbing reality, according to Vanguard. An investigative reporter managed to obtain a degree from a university in Cotonou in just six weeks and even participated in the National Youth Service Corps’ mandatory one-year scheme, raising serious concerns about the credibility of such institutions.

Related Topic: Afrobeats Pioneer Kennis Music Celebrates 25 Years of Shaping Global Rhythms

In light of these revelations, the NUC has released a list of 18 banned foreign universities. This list includes institutions from various countries, with operations flagged across Nigeria. Among them are:

1. University of Applied Sciences and Management, Port Novo, Republic of Benin.
2. Volta University College, Ho, Volta Region, Ghana.
3. The International University, Missouri, USA, with study centers in Kano and Lagos.
4. Columbus University, UK.
5. Tiu International University, UK.
6. Pebbles University, UK.
7. London External Studies UK.
8. Pilgrims University.
9. West African Christian University.
10. EC-Council University, USA, Ikeja Lagos Study Centre.
11. Concept College/Universities (London), Ilorin.
12. Houdegbe North American University.
13. Irish University Business School London.
14. University of Education, Winneba, Ghana.
15. Cape Coast University, Ghana.
16. African University Cooperative Development, Cotonou, Benin Republic.
17. Pacific Western University, Denver, Colorado, Owerri Study Centre.
18. Evangel University of America and Chudick Management Academic, Lagos.

The Ministry’s decision emphasizes Nigeria’s dedication to ensuring that its citizens receive legitimate and valuable educational qualifications. “We must protect the integrity of our academic credentials and ensure that our students’ hard work is not undermined,” added Mr. Tahir.

The Federal Government’s stance serves as a stern warning against academic shortcuts and sets a precedent for educational standards in the country.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button